Drinks, Exercise, Food, Friends, Seasons, Sports, Work

Blades & Brain

20120201-213639.jpg

The weather called for some rollerblading today – which so happens to be the other activity that I have the most “serious” injuries in. The first one came when my brother Christian and cousin Andrew were blading around town and ended up at this park with some slides. We thought it would be a great idea to slide down on our rollerblades – which my first time down I scrapped up my hands, but I was the only one to make it all the way down without falling while on the slide. My brother insisted that I go down again even despite my need to sit out. So I went down again and ended up splitting my wrist bone – it was officially the second day of the summer too. My other story comes from when I was a GA getting my masters at Muskingum. The blade wheel that you see in the picture were the brand new skates I got for my birthday. I wanted to try them out one evening – Muskingum’s campus is very hilly and beautiful, so I figured if I could make my way to main street that I would be golden. So I hop on the sidewalk heading down to main street and I noticed that the sidewalk abruptly ended and was rocks the rest of the way down. There was no grass for me to jump on as I progressively picked up speed. The only thing I saw was this solid cement wall off to my right where all our cars parked. I grabbed on as quickly as I could and the skin on my left arm came off as quickly as I grabbed on. The scar is there to prove it. I also thought my rollerblading story was cool enough as it was, so I didn’t make up anything about a shark attack.

As for the tea, computer, headphones (conversation not pictured)…taking some time off the road

Standard